Operation Fuel assistance continuing during COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic. Click here for details.

The Operation Fuel Board of Directors is legally and ethically responsible for all activities of the agency.  These responsibilities include but are not limited to, supporting the Operation Fuel mission, acting as advocates for Operation Fuel in the community, ensuring the agency meets its ethical, legal, and financial obligations, preparing for and participating in board and committee meetings, assisting with fundraising strategies and participating actively in Operation Fuel fundraising activities and special events.

Commitment:  Board members may serve two (2) consecutive three-year (3) terms.  Board members are expected to attend six board meetings a year and to join one committee.


The Development Committee is responsible for reviewing the annual development plan and development activities, as well as, supporting Operation Fuel’s fundraising and donor cultivation efforts. This committee meets two to three times a year.

The Finance Committee is responsible for financial oversight, the audit, recommending investment policy to the board, and the monitoring of internal controls and accountability policies. This committee meets four to five times a year.

The Governance Committee supports the board in meeting its stewardship responsibilities by ensuring the board has the requisite talent, skills, and capacities to govern the organization.  This committee meets four to five times a year.

The Public Affairs Committee advances the strategic vision of Operation Fuel through education, advocacy, and media relations.  The committee will determine Operation Fuel’s role in legislative activities and develop a policy agenda.  This committee meets four times a year.

Interested candidates should complete the application form: Operation Fuel Application Board of Directors


  • Chair – Allan Smith

    Manchester Sports Center

  • Co-Chair – Megan Brown

    Thames Valley Council for Community Action

  • Treasurer – Rick Schauster

    Empire Industries, Retired

  • Rauchell Beckford Anderson
    Rose Kallor, LLP

  • Daniel Canavan
    UIL Holdings Corporation

  • Melissa Davis-Hussain
    US Department of Veteran Affairs


  • Alexandrea Isaac
    Starion Energy

  • Amy McLean
    Acadia Center

  • Nicholas Neeley
    Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority, Retired

  • Denise Rhone
    Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal Fund (CWEALF)

  • Lisa Vallera
    Eversource Energy

  • Lorenzo Wyatt
    Home Comfort Practice